Posted in Health & Wellness, Holistic Health Care

Your 7 Energy Centers: The Root Chakra

Written by Kim Fuller on October 18, 2011 with 1 Comment

  • Print This

This article is part 1 of 7 in the series Your 7 Energy Centers

7 Chakras DiagramIn traditional eastern medicine, and the spiritual and yogic spheres of Hinduism and Buddhism, Chakras are the seven main circular energy spaces within the physical body. They are believed to be force centers—each found on a specific point on the body and each with a focused purpose of energy.

The word Chakra is derived from the Sanskrit meaning of “wheel” or “turning,” which reflects the idea that the swirling energy of each Chakra penetrates to surrounding areas—pinwheels that spread different forms of energy throughout our bodies.

“As centers of force, Chakras can be thought of as sites where we receive, absorb, and distribute life energies,” according to Yoga Journal. Each Chakra is associated with specific functions within the body, as well as issues that arise in our physical, spiritual and emotional lives.

Your energy centers begin at the base of your spinal column—with the Root Chakra—and extend upwards to the Crown Chakra on the top of your head.

Root (Muladhara) Chakra


The Root Chakra is the 1st Chakra, and is located at the base of your spine at your tailbone.


This Chakra is connected to our feelings of physical survival, relating to issues of food and money. It is associated with the natural element of earth, and is a source of strength and development for the energy centers in your body. Your sense of balance and security in the world begins here—at the base of your spine.



Healing Techniques

Your Root Chakra is provides you a connection to the world. Your bare feet and strong legs are what keep the rest of your energies rooted, so try yoga poses such as Mountain Pose (Tadasana) and Tree Pose (Vriksasana) to help find grounding and balance.

Other postures can also relieve tension and help you to feel more grounded, including Standing Forward Bend (Uttanasana) and Head-to-Knee Pose (Janu Sirsasana), which both help to release your hamstrings, and Salamba Savasana (Supported Corpse Pose) and Salamba Balasana (Supported Child’s Pose), both of which are effective in promoting rooted restoration in the body and mind.

Relative Foods

Red foods, such as apples and beets, as well as root vegetables, including carrots and potatoes, are foods that draw attention to grounding your Root Chakra, according to MindBodyGreen. Also, spicy cayenne peppers and Tabasco sauce, as well as animal proteins, such as red meats and eggs are considered to be grounding and healing foods for your Root Chakra.

1 Comment

There are currently 1 Comment on Your 7 Energy Centers: The Root Chakra. Perhaps you would like to add one of your own?

  1. Just want to say your article is as surprising.
    The clarity in your put up is simply spectacular and that i could think you’re an expert on this subject.

    Well together with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed to keep up to date with coming near near post.

    Thanks one million and please carry on the rewarding work.

Leave a Comment