Posted in Health & Wellness, Holistic Health Care

Your 7 Energy Centers: The Sacral Chakra

Written by Kim Fuller on October 25, 2011 with 2 Comments

  • Print This

This article is part 2 of 7 in the series Your 7 Energy Centers

Second ChakraIn traditional eastern medicine, and the spiritual and yogic spheres of Hinduism and Buddhism, Chakras are the seven main circular energy spaces within the physical body.

They are believed to be force centers—each found on a specific point on the body and each with a focused purpose of energy.

In Sanskrit, the second Chakra is called Svadisthana, according to Yoga Journal,  which means “one’s own place or base.”

Sacral (Svadisthana) Chakra


This is the area in our bodies—our hips, sacrum and genitals—where we can be open, or closed, to the movement of emotional and sensual energies. This is the where we experience pleasure and intimacy, as well as desire and sexuality.

The second Chakra encompasses the body’s hips, lower abdomen, lower back, sacrum, reproductive organs, womb, bladder and kidneys—areas where a lot of people hold tension or pain. The hip areas are where people tend to store heavy and excessive emotions—a sort of overflow-zone where we hold the feelings and ideas that we may not be address or releasing from our lives.


This Chakra is related to all watery things in our existence—tears, urination, circulation, menstruation and orgasm. Water represents and creates movement, change and flow in our bodies, so healthy care and attention to your Sacral Chakra can help you to embrace these elements in your life.

The even-numbered Chakras—including the second, fourth and sixth—are associated with “feminine qualities,” such as openness and relaxation. It’s these even-numbered Chakras that open us to feelings of love, compassion, trust and intuition, and they are the areas where our bodies can produce calm and cool energy—versus the more “masculine” traits of productivity, knowledge and action, which creates more warmth and generates heat in the body.



Relative Foods

Orange-colored foods are associated with the second Chakra. These foods include citrus fruits such as oranges and tangerines, as well as squash and pumpkins, according to MindBodyGreen. Nuts are also foods that are associated with the Sacral Chakra, as well as water and all liquids.

Healing Techniques

The power of pleasure can be a healing elements to the second Chakra, so gentle and restorative yoga postures are often effective in relaxing the tense areas around our hips and lower backs.

Groin and hip-opening postures—such as Bound Angle Pose (Baddha Konasana), Seated Splits (Hanumanasana), Prayer Squat Prayer Squat (Namaskarasana), and Half-Pigeon (Eka Pada Rajakapotasana)—can help to release tension in your second Chakra, and allow you to be more open to energetic and emotional flows. Do not force these poses, but instead use softer approaches of surrender and sensitivity.

“The second Chakra encourages us to feel the feelings that arise as we open to life just as it is,” according to Yoga Journal. “When we relax our resistance to life, our hips let go, our reproductive organs become less tense, and we’re open to experiencing our sensuality and sexuality.”


There are currently 2 Comments on Your 7 Energy Centers: The Sacral Chakra. Perhaps you would like to add one of your own?

  1. I would just like to add another expression named ‘loosening the tightness in the anal sphincter’ as far as hip opening is concerned.

  2. wow just reading this reminded me of going to the chiropractor and getting my hips and pelvis adjusted because my pelvis was just not in the right place and I was always in pain especially after working on clients bodies ( I am a massage therapist). Well when he was working on my pelvis and hips I was waking up with no pain, had a ton of energy which typically my energy levels are low, I was relaxed to where I was able to let some stresses and issues in my life go and I was able to take on more clients and I was able to zone in and focus on my clients better. I really need to go back because right now I am back to being in pain, my energy sucks, and concentration is all over and I am feeling unbalanced.

Leave a Comment